The Department of Political Science groups all the people involved in political science teaching and research at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

The Department organizes a Bachelor in Political Science (in Dutch), a Master in Political Science (in Dutch) and it participates in the organization of an Advanced Master in European Integration (in English).

Most of the research conducted in the Department falls under four major themes.

  • Political participation and representation
  • Nations, nationalism and ethnic conflict
  • The politics of the European Union
  • Chinese politics and society

Several projects and PhDs also focus on gender studies, urban and local politics, international security, political theory and ideologies, and discourse analysis.

The Department collaborates closely with the Institute for European Studies IES and with the Brussels Institute for Contemporary China Studies BICCS. The Department is a member of the European Consortium of Political Research.