The Department of Political Science groups all the people involved in political science teaching and research at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

The Department organizes a Bachelor's degree program in Political Science (in Dutch), a Master's degree program in Political Science (in Dutch). It further participates in the organization of a Bachelor's degree program in Social Sciences (in English) and an Advanced Master in European Integration and Development (in English).

Most of the research conducted in the Department falls under five major themes.

  • Political participation and representation
  • Nations, nationalism and ethnic conflict
  • The politics of the European Union
  • Chinese politics and society
  • Public policy and public sector innovation

Several projects and PhDs also focus on gender studies, urban and local politics, international security, political theory and ideologies, and discourse analysis.

The Department collaborates closely with the Institute for European Studies IES. The Department is also a member of the European Consortium of Political Research.